IV Line Maintenance Supplies: Facility Stocking Guide
IV line maintenance supplies for facilities: which extension set, needleless connector, and prefilled saline flush syringe to stock, and in what pack sizes.

Most facility PAR lists treat infusion as a single line item, but IV line maintenance supplies are really three distinct consumables that get pulled together and reordered separately: the extension set that adds reach between the patient and the primary line, the needleless connector that provides the access port, and the prefilled saline flush syringe that keeps the catheter patent between uses. Stock one and forget the other two and a nurse ends up improvising at the bedside. This guide walks the three SKUs we actually carry, what each one does, and how to think about pack sizes when you build the infusion section of your order guide, using CV100B, our IV Extension Set; HMG-CV1, our Needleless Connector; and SAL-FLUSH-PFS, our Prefilled Saline Flush Syringe.
This is a procurement guide, not a clinical protocol. Which device belongs on a given line, how often a connector is changed, and flush technique are decisions for the infusion nurse, treating clinician, or facility policy. Our scope here is which SKUs to keep on the shelf and in what configuration.
The three pieces of an IV line maintenance kit
An IV extension set is the length of tubing that connects between the patient's catheter and the primary IV line. Our CV100B is a sterile, single-use set built for secure, leak-resistant luer-lock connections and kink-resistant flow, and it adds reach so the connection sits away from the insertion site — better for patient comfort and clinician access. It comes in two builds that are worth knowing about at order time: a 7-inch macrobore version (HMG-CV100B) for higher flow rates and a 7-inch microbore version (HMG-CVM100B) for lower-volume or more controlled delivery. Both are packaged 100 sets per box for high-volume use.
A needleless connector is the access port that sits on the end of the line, letting a clinician connect a syringe or IV set without a needle. Our HMG-CV1 is a neutral-displacement, female luer-lock connector: the neutral-displacement mechanism is engineered to limit blood reflux into the catheter during connection and disconnection, which supports line patency and a closed, aseptic system. It ships sterile and single-use, 100 per case, with 180 cases per pallet for facilities buying at volume — priced at $145.00 per 100-count case.
A prefilled saline flush syringe is the piece that keeps the line working between uses. Our SAL-FLUSH-PFS (Safe-T-Flush) is prefilled with 10 mL of preservative-free 0.9% sodium chloride (USP), so there's no drawing up saline from a vial and no separate needle. It's FDA 510(k) cleared, compatible with all needleless systems, and built DEHP-free, PVC-free, and latex-free. The engineered design is meant to hold consistent flush pressure and reduce rebound. It comes in two pack builds: 10 mL in a 12 mL syringe barrel at 100 per box (SAL-FLUSH-10ML-100), and 10 mL in a 10 mL barrel at 30 per box (SAL-FLUSH-10ML-30), which cartons up to 300 per case.
IV line maintenance supplies at a glance
| Spec | Extension Set (CV100B) | Needleless Connector (HMG-CV1) | Saline Flush (SAL-FLUSH-PFS) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Role | Adds reach between catheter and primary line | Needle-free access port | Flushes and maintains catheter patency |
| Key feature | Kink-resistant tubing, leak-resistant luer lock | Neutral-displacement, closed system | Prefilled 0.9% NaCl (USP), preservative-free |
| Connection | Standard luer lock | Female luer lock | Compatible with all needleless systems |
| Fill / size | 7" macrobore or microbore builds | — | 10 mL fill |
| Sterility | Sterile, single-use | Sterile, single-use | Sterile, non-pyrogenic, single-use |
| Latex free | Not specified on spec sheet | Yes | Yes |
| Pack | 100 / box | 100 / case (180 cases/pallet) | 30/box or 100/box (300/case) |
| Listed price | Contact for pricing | $145.00 / case | Contact for pricing |
The three ship sterile and single-use, so the storage and infection-control handling are consistent across the line. The differences that matter to a buyer are pack size and, for the extension set and flush syringe, which variant build lands on the shelf.
Why the flush syringe pack size is the decision to get right
Of the three, the prefilled saline flush is the fastest-moving consumable — it's used every time a line is accessed and cleared, so it turns over far quicker than a connector or an extension set. That's exactly why the two box builds matter. The 30-per-box configuration (SAL-FLUSH-10ML-30) is the lighter-touch order for a unit that flushes a handful of lines a day, keeping less cash tied up on the shelf and reducing the risk of product aging toward its dating. The 100-per-box build (SAL-FLUSH-10ML-100), which cases up to 300, is the volume order for a busy infusion floor where flushes get pulled constantly and a bigger box means fewer reorders and less per-unit packaging overhead.
The practical rule: match the box to your access frequency, not to a flat "one size" habit. A skilled-nursing unit with a light infusion census is usually better served by the 30-count box, while a high-volume floor should default to the 100-count. Buying the big box for a low-turn unit risks holding preservative-free saline past its useful window; buying the small box for a high-turn floor means someone is reordering constantly.
Matching connectors and extension sets to your line volume
The needleless connector and extension set turn over more slowly than the flush, but they're the pieces you never want to run short on, because a missing connector stalls an entire line setup. The HMG-CV1 is sold 100 to a case at $145.00, which is a clean unit to PAR against your active line count and your connector-change cadence — set your reorder point off how many lines you run and how often policy calls for a connector swap, then keep at least one full case as buffer.
The CV100B extension set is where the macrobore-versus-microbore choice comes in. If your facility runs a mix of flow rates, it's worth stocking both the macrobore (HMG-CV100B) and microbore (HMG-CVM100B) builds rather than forcing one to cover every case — but if your census leans one way, standardizing on a single build simplifies the order guide and the supply cart. Both come 100 per box, so the case-pack math is identical either way; the only question is which build, and how many boxes, your line volume justifies.
Building the infusion section of your PAR
Put together, a facility's IV line maintenance supplies section comes down to three reorder points that move at different speeds. The flush syringe is your fast mover — set its PAR generously and pick the box size that matches access frequency. The needleless connector is your steady mover — PAR it against active line count and change cadence, and keep a case in reserve. The extension set is your slowest mover but your least forgiving stockout — decide macrobore, microbore, or both, and hold enough that a line setup is never waiting on tubing. Stock all three deliberately and the infusion cart is complete; treat "infusion" as one line item and you'll be short on one of them by the end of the month.
Frequently asked questions
What's the difference between an extension set and a needleless connector? They do different jobs on the same line. The CV100B extension set is tubing that adds length between the catheter and the primary IV line; the HMG-CV1 needleless connector is the access port that lets a clinician connect a syringe or set without a needle. Most line setups use both.
Why choose a neutral-displacement needleless connector? The neutral-displacement design on the HMG-CV1 is engineered to limit blood reflux into the catheter during connection and disconnection, supporting catheter patency and a closed, aseptic system. Whether it's the right connector for a given protocol is a clinical decision — from a stocking standpoint it's our standard needleless port, sold 100 per case.
Which prefilled saline flush pack size should a facility order? Match the box to access frequency. The SAL-FLUSH-PFS comes as a 30-per-box build for lower-volume units and a 100-per-box build (300 per case) for high-volume floors. Lighter-turn units avoid holding preservative-free saline too long with the smaller box; busy floors reorder less often with the larger one.
Do the extension set and flush syringe come in more than one version? Yes. The CV100B extension set ships as a 7-inch macrobore or 7-inch microbore build, and the SAL-FLUSH-PFS flush comes in a 10 mL fill in either a 12 mL barrel (100/box) or a 10 mL barrel (30/box). Confirm the exact build when you order so the right variant lands on the cart.
Are these supplies latex-free? The HMG-CV1 connector and the SAL-FLUSH-PFS flush are listed latex-free; the flush is also DEHP-free, PVC-free, non-pyrogenic, and FDA 510(k) cleared. Latex status is not specified on the CV100B extension set spec sheet — ask us to confirm before ordering if that's a requirement for your facility.